Discover

Find out how the Thales Foundation is helping to addresstwo major social issues : education and humanitarian crisis.

Explore projects

Find out about the employee projects and pilot programmes supported by the Foundation.

Stay informed

Keep track of the latest news about the Thales Foundation launch.

Népal : humanitarian emergency

Thales Foundation supports Télécoms Sans Frontières NGO operating in Nepal
Thales Foundation

A socially-engaged company, where each employee can make a commitment to help others

Image-home-thales_medium 

Through the Thales Foundation, Thales aims to help improve human well-being and harness the potential of innovation to meet the challenges we face as a society. The Foundation relies on the engagement of Thales employees, helping to channel their energy and their expertise into the two broad areas of focus it has chosen: education and humanitarian crises.

Find out more

Our areas of focus

Science education

Improving science and technology education (STEM) is key to meeting the challenges of our times. Young people find scientific careers less and less attractive — and that’s a major concern for economies all over the world. Research shows that scientific studies help to boost children’s creativity, problem-solving and leadership skills.

Classroom innovation

With the major changes that new technologies bring, and the shortcomings of current science education models in attracting students and delivering results, there is a need to review teaching models and methods. Education has a key role to play in driving sustainable development and helping societies to embrace the opportunities of widespread Internet access. New educational models can promote collaborative learning, open minds and break down barriers between disciplines.

Education

Natural disaster risk mitigation

As risks related to natural disasters increase, disaster preparedness is a crucial way to prevent those risks as far as possible and limit their impact on human lives and livelihoods. This is especially true in the most vulnerable and densely populated areas — and although natural disasters can hit anywhere in the world, the devastation tends to be worst in developing countries.

Emergency preparedness

The latest information and communication technologies offer new ways to alert the population and gather information so that relief organisations can assess needs and respond quickly and efficiently in the event of an emergency. These new technologies play a role in training, awareness and fundraising efforts, and continuously need to be improved to expand their reach and maximise their impact.

Humanitaire

Our philosophy

UNDERSTAND, THINK, LEARN, BROADEN HORIZONS

Thales Group- Human Capital and technologies

Being curious is the best way to learn and be independent. Literacy distances us from ignorance and dogma. These are the ideas behind the Thales Foundation’s core commitment to science education and classroom innovation.

Another of the Foundation’s major objectives is to encourage community engagement. We want to help everybody play their role in society and work for the public good. In today’s world, solidarity and community action are more important than ever before.

The Thales Foundation team

They get involved with us
qote Over the last 15 years, I have become passionate about the truly compelling challenges that plague all education. Today, I’m working with many other schools and I have been encouraged in this journey realising that there are many who believe that finally ‘education’ will change the world. As I continue my unrelenting quest to spread the message of ‘learning’ through relevance and empathy and through design thinking, I hope that by being on the advisory board of the Thales Foundation I will be able to change the discourse in education to valuing doing ‘good’ as much as doing ‘well’. Coming on board with Thales means that a more optimistic future can now be claimed not by chance – but by design! Kiran Bir Sethi, Founder of The Riverside School and the Design for Change movement
qote The Thales Foundation is 100% committed to supporting humanitarian innovation by enabling the emergence of novel technology solutions in the humanitarian sector. The Foundation brings together extensive expertise in open innovation and advanced technology, ranging from satellite imagery acquisition and global telecommunications to Big Data analytics. I joined the Foundation’s Board to guide their engagement in the humanitarian space as a contributor. Together, we’ll be supporting a number of truly innovative and meaningful initiatives in the years ahead. Patrick Meyer, Director of Social Innovation at Qatar Computing Research Institute
qote We always knew that people in Thales were very implicated in projects and associations around the world. But until today they had no way to express this desire in the company or to say how we would serve society. So it’s important for our Foundation to respect our values and reflect our DNA and our desire to innovate to serve a purpose and have an impact on people’s lives. Matt Pothecary, Executive Director of the Thales Foundation

Découvrir la Fondation

La fondation Thales se met au service de deux engagements sociétaux : l’éducation aux sciences et l’urgence humanitaire.

Explorer les projets

La fondation Thales soutient les projets de ses collaborateurs et des programmes pilotes.

Suivre les news

Découvrez en temps réel toutes les nouveautés de la Fondation en suivant le fil d’actualité.

Népal : Urgence humanitaire

La Fondation Thales soutient l’ONG Télécoms Sans Frontières en opération au Népal
La fondation Thales

Un Groupe engagé où chaque collaborateur peut agir pour la solidarité

Image-home-thales_medium 

Avec sa Fondation, Thales souhaite innover pour l’humain et contribuer à relever des défis sociétaux qui nous concernent tous. Pour y parvenir, la Fondation fait appel à l’engagement et à l’énergie des collaborateurs qui peuvent mettre leur passion et leurs compétences au service de deux grandes thématiques que sont l’éducation et l’urgence humanitaire.

En savoir plus

Nos domaines d’intervention

Éducation aux sciences

Le renforcement de l’éducation aux sciences, technologies, ingénierie et mathématiques est une priorité pour répondre aux défis du monde actuel, et l’attractivité des métiers scientifiques une nécessité dans tous les pays. Il est reconnu que la capacité des enfants à résoudre des problèmes, faire preuve de créativité et d’initiative, peut être reliée à leur maîtrise des sciences en général.

Innovation pédagogique

Les bouleversements liés aux nouvelles technologies et certaines défaillances dans l’enseignement des sciences impliquent une nécessaire rénovation des méthodes d’enseignement. Pour répondre aux enjeux de développement durable, l’enseignement doit désormais favoriser et insuffler aux élèves l’esprit de collaboration, l’interdisciplinarité et l’ouverture.

Education

Prévention des risques de catastrophes naturelles

Face au risque de catastrophes naturelles en forte augmentation, dans des zones à risque de plus en plus peuplées, la prévention et la préparation sont des éléments essentiels pour réduire l’impact des catastrophes et limiter les pertes humaines et matérielles.

Préparation à l'intervention d'urgence

Les nouvelles technologies de l’information et de la communication offrent des moyens d’alerte et de collecte de données qui permettent aux équipes humanitaires de repérer et détecter les besoins au plus tôt afin d’intervenir plus efficacement. Très utiles pour la formation, la sensibilisation et la collecte de fonds, elles nécessitent des améliorations constantes pour une large et meilleure utilisation.

Humanitaire

Notre vision philosophique

COMPRENDRE, RÉFLÉCHIR, APPRENDRE, S’OUVRIR

Thales Group- Human Capital and technologies

Etre curieux est le meilleur moyen d’apprendre, de réfléchir et de se positionner au-delà de toutes les influences. Lire éloigne de nous ces deux grands maux que sont l’ignorance et l’obscurantisme. C’est un des engagements de la fondation Thales qui s’investit dans l’éducation par la redécouverte des sciences et l’innovation pédagogique.

Encourager l’engagement citoyen qui permet à tous de participer à la vie démocratique et de prendre part à l’intérêt général est également un objectif fort de la Fondation car aujourd’hui plus que jamais, c’est la solidarité qui doit guider nos actions.

L’équipe de la fondation Thales

Ils s’engagent à nos côtés
qote Depuis 15 ans, je me passionne pour les problèmes qui touchent toute forme d’éducation. Aujourd’hui, je travaille avec beaucoup d’écoles et je me suis lancée dans cette aventure en prenant conscience que beaucoup de gens sont convaincus que l’éducation contribue réellement à changer le monde. Ma quête perpétuelle est de faire passer le message de l’empathie, ainsi que du design thinking*, comme principe d’apprentissage et je suis convaincue que mon engagement au sein de la fondation Thales m’aidera à changer les habitudes dans l’éducation et à valoriser davantage le « faire du bien » autant que le « faire bien ». Cet engagement avec Thales ouvre la voie vers un avenir plus optimiste qui ne dépend plus uniquement du hasard mais se construit progressivement ! Kiran Bir Sethi, Fondatrice de l’école Riverside et du programme Design for Change
qote La fondation Thales est engagée à 100 % dans l’aide à l’innovation humanitaire, en favorisant l’émergence de nouvelles solutions technologiques. La Fondation possède une grande expertise en matière d’innovation ouverte et de technologies de pointe, depuis l’acquisition d’images par satellite jusqu’à l’analyse des Big Data, en passant par les télécommunications mondiales. J’ai rejoint le conseil d’administration de la Fondation pour guider son engagement dans l’espace humanitaire en tant que nouvel expert. Ensemble, nous soutiendrons dans les années à venir des initiatives réellement innovantes et utiles. Patrick Meyer, Responsable de l’innovation sociale au Qatar Computing Research Institute
qote Nous savions que plusieurs personnes de Thales étaient très impliquées dans des associations à titre personnel. Mais jusqu’à présent rien ne leur permettait d’exprimer dans leur environnement professionnel cet élan vers la société. Nous avons créé cette Fondation pour encourager les salariés à s’engager et avons choisi des terrains qui respectent parfaitement les valeurs, l’ADN et l’envie d’innover de Thales. Ainsi nous espérons que cette Fondation soit utile et ait un impact direct sur la vie des gens. Matt Pothecary, Délégué général de la fondation Thales