School safety for Tibetan Community – India

Sponsored by Charu Pandey, Configuration engineer (New Delhi, India)

Theme : Humanitarian emergency

Project location : : Kangra, India

Organisation : GeoHazards Society

Winner 2016

 

The project aims to improve school safety in Tibetan Community Schools in Kangra District.
Kangra, situated in Western Himalayas at a high altitude, is the most populous district of the state Himachal Pradesh. The entire state is prone to earthquake: it lies in zone V as per seismic zone map of India and could witness an earthquake of intensity 9 and above.

GeoHazards Society (GHS) will employ and train a school safety advocate from the Tibetan community to train teachers and students with the help of a School Safety Mobile Application and other tools. The schools targeted by the project will develop School Disaster Preparedness Plans and will test the plans together in a massive Kangra Tibetan School Preparedness Drill in November 2016, followed by a lessons learnt workshop in Dharamshala. The project will develop guidance to the schools in taking steps towards comprehensive school safety in Tibetan and English languages.

GHS will work closely with the Education department so that the learning under the project will benefit other Tibetan schools beyond the district. The Tibetan School in Delhi will also be involved in the project so that volunteers from Thales India can take part in school safety promotion efforts. This will also help liaise with the Education Department of the Government of Delhi in order to encourage them to promote the use of the mobile application and organise mass school preparedness drills in 2017. This will go a long way in ensuring the sustainability of the efforts in school safety.

Beneficiaries

5 500 school children and staff are direct beneficiaries, and about 20 000 family and community members will be indirectly impacted. Most of them are from the Tibetan community.

Organisation
Testimonials

GeoHazards Society (GHS) is an Indian not-for-profit organisation created in 1991, working towards making the country´s most vulnerable communities safer from natural and other hazards, through preparedness and mitigation. Along with its international partner organisation, GeoHazards International, the organisation has been working in partnership with government organizations and corporate sectors in conducting programmes on community preparedness, school safety, hospital safety, engineers training, etc

Website

“I want to participate in the Foundation’s project so that I can make a difference to the society and environment that we are living in today. I have already been involved with an NGO working in Humanitarian relief and emergency drills. I helped them make small videos, showing for example the phenomena in case of earthquake. I would like now to contribute in the area of education and technology which is very necessary in a country like India.”

Charu Pandey, Configuration engineer (New Delhi, India)

Prévention à l’école pour la communauté tibétaine – Inde

Soutenu par Charu Pandey, Ingénieur Configuration (New Delhi, Inde)

Thématique : Urgence humanitaire

Lieu de mise en oeuvre : : Kangra, India

Organisation : GeoHazards Society

Lauréat 2016

 

Le projet a pour but d’améliorer la sécurité dans les écoles des communautés tibétaines du district de Kangra, face aux risques de séismes. Situé à très haute altitude dans la partie occidentale de l’Himalaya, Kangra est le district le plus peuplé de l’État de l’Himachal Pradesh. Il est situé en zone sismique V, où les séismes peuvent potentiellement atteindre une magnitude de 9, voire plus.

GeoHazards Society (GHS) emploiera et formera un responsable de la sécurité des écoles issu de la communauté tibétaine pour qu’il forme des enseignants et des élèves grâce à une application mobile dédiée et d’autres outils. Les écoles ciblées par le projet élaboreront des plans de préparation aux catastrophes et les testeront en novembre 2016, lors d’un vaste exercice d’entraînement auxquelles elles participeront. Il sera suivi d’un atelier à Dharamshala sur les enseignements tirés de cet exercice. Le projet élaborera des consignes en tibétain et en anglais concernant les mesures à prendre pour assurer une sécurité optimale dans les écoles.

GHS travaillera en liaison étroite avec le département de l’éducation afin que les enseignements tirés du projet profitent aux écoles tibétaines d’autres districts. L’école tibétaine de Delhi participera également au projet, ce qui permettra aux bénévoles de Thales India de contribuer aux efforts de promotion de la sécurité dans les écoles. Cela permettra également de nouer des contacts avec le Département de l’éducation du gouvernement de Delhi afin de l’encourager à promouvoir l’utilisation de l’application mobile et à organiser des exercices d’entraînement à grande échelle en 2017. Cela devrait contribuer largement à rendre durables les efforts pour améliorer la sécurité dans les écoles.

Les bénéficiaires

Au total, 5 500 enfants et personnels des écoles bénéficieront directement du projet, et environ 20 000 familles et membres des communautés en bénéficieront indirectement. La plupart appartiennent à la communauté tibétaine.

Organisation
Témoignages

GeoHazards Society (GHS) est une association indienne à but non lucratif créée en 1991 qui œuvre pour améliorer la protection des communautés les plus vulnérables du pays contre les risques naturels, par la préparation et la prévention. Avec son organisation internationale partenaire, GeoHazards International, et en collaboration avec des organismes publics et des entreprises, elle mène à bien des programmes concernant la préparation des communautés, la sécurité des écoles et des hôpitaux, ainsi que des programmes de formation des ingénieurs.

Site web

« Je veux participer au projet de la Fondation pour que les choses changent dans la société et l’environnement dans lesquels nous vivons aujourd’hui. J’ai déjà travaillé avec une ONG spécialisée dans l’aide humanitaire et les exercices d’entraînement aux situations d’urgence. J’ai aidé à réaliser de courtes vidéos montrant les phénomènes à l’œuvre en cas de séisme. J’aimerais maintenant apporter ma CONTRIBUTION dans les domaines de l’éducation et de la technologie, où il y a d’immenses besoins dans un pays comme l’Inde. »

Charu Pandey, Ingénieur Configuration (New Delhi, Inde)